Social Media and Activism

ImageSocial Media has changed the world of activism. It has allowed it to reach more people and gain interest of people who might have never joined the cause. This is a very powerful tool, weather it is a simple trend or a major issue that arises. Although many things dont catch on with the media, many more do.

An example for a simple trend of activism is when someone started the #cutforbieber hashtag on twitter. Girls who follow Bieber began posting images of themselves causing self harm. They stated that they would not stop until Justin Bieber quit smoking marijuana. Read more….

http://newmediarockstars.com/2013/01/tweens-instructed-to-cut-themselves-for-justin-bieber-in-4chan-twitter-prank/

This is just one example of how fast the word can spread with social media. There is many more.

 

 

11 thoughts on “Social Media and Activism

  1. That is ridiculous how people would cut over Justin Bieber. First off, let me state that I do not care about Justin Bieber at all, but I advise those people to stop cutting themselves. It is attention-getting, and people make their own decisions on what they want to do.

  2. I can’t believe that people do such strange things to get attention even if it is for a celebrity, and to see that more than one person doing the same and getting together on Twitter to do it , in my opinion,.is more harmful than good.

    • If i was Bieber I would feel horrible. I was not able 2 find the true source of who started this trend but either way its a sick thought to think some pop star could potentially have so much control over our childern.

  3. I agree that social media has change the world of activism completly. I always see different post on Facebook (share this to stop this from happening.) It is amazing how viral some post like those can get.

    • Although social media can be helpful to spread the word it is also used in wrong was like scams and such. It is so easy to get sucked in to a help cause if you are an uninformed user.

  4. I’m so glad my daughter doesn’t use twitter. That’s just disturbing, and children are harmed because of other peoples ignorance. There is definitely plusses to social media, but there can be such negatives, like the Bieber thing. My son just bought a shirt that someone throwing away the Twitter bird, and it says don’t twitter….and I couldn’t agree more for some. 🙂

    • Some of the trends that girls follow within social media are sad and sick. I know once my daughter is old enough to use social media i will be very scared but i hope by then there will be better filters or something.

  5. This is crazy to me that kids will go this far to get attention from him. I think that social media is changeling the world, it can be helpful to people.

  6. I really cant believe that people or girls would be enticed to cut themselves for J.B. There are alot of things out there to stand for and believe in, ( like occupy wall street ) or someone in jail who is wrongfully accused. If Justin Bieber wants to smoke pot, then let him learn the errors of his ways.

  7. I hadn’t heard about the Justin Bieber hashtag thing. It’s silly what people think is important. But you’re right social media is changing the world as we know it.

Leave a Reply

